gcalicsimporter 0.1

Rating:        Based on 8 ratings
Reviewed:  8 reviews
Downloads: 8921
Released: Oct 19, 2009
Updated: Oct 19, 2009 by amezcua
Dev status: Alpha Help Icon

Recommended Download

Application gcalicsimporter.zip
application, 108K, uploaded Oct 19, 2009 - 8278 downloads

Other Available Downloads

Source Code C# Source
source code, 8K, uploaded Oct 19, 2009 - 643 downloads

Release Notes

First published version. It parses .ics files and imports the EVENTS it finds to the configured Google Calendar. The installation and configuration of the application is manual. Please read the Documentation section to see the steps that must be followed.

Reviews for this release

     
Unfortunately it didn't work for me. It created an empty event at the current time and date. If you're worried about putting your password in the config file then make it readable only by you and use application-specific passwords.
by JamieKitson on Apr 23, 2012 at 2:32 PM
     
Does exactly what I want: supplies a program that I can use as a target in .ics file association for Windows. However, the plain text password makes this completely unusable as it's too easy a target for attack and e-mail addresses are connected to too many other things to put at risk like that. i will be watching for a future release which uses some sort of encryption, then it'll be perfect!
by bodybuzz on Nov 25, 2011 at 5:56 PM
     
Good work, does exactly what I wanted. I use Outlook in addition to Gmail so I have the option now to right-click and Open With "GCal ICS Imported" or just double-click for import into Outlook. As has already been mentioned the main issue with the current version is the plain-text storage of my account credentials!
by ProNotion on May 9, 2011 at 6:48 AM
     
I give this 5 stars for encouragement - this is after all a 0.1 alpha release. It does exactly what I was looking for as it allows me to quickly and painlessly add meeting invites to my google calendar. @szlevi -> I'm using on Win7 x64 with no problem
by psyborg on Mar 11, 2011 at 1:50 PM
     
Seems like it would almost do what I want, but I installed on an Ubuntu box using Mono for Windows and Wine. Problem - prepending a drive letter I didn't specify: GCalICSImporter v.0.1.0.0 Processing '/home/sdonie/Downloads/calendar.ics'... * Error parsing file: Could not find a part of the path "C:\home\sdonie\Downloads\calendar.ics".
by stevedonie on Sep 7, 2010 at 9:01 PM
     
Worked great for me. To make it easier to use, follow my instructions to create a batch file interface allowing you to upload up to 5000 events in one go. http://rogersymonds.blogspot.com/2010/07/uploading-lots-of-ics-files-to-google.html Thanks to Amezcua! --- more tips at http://rogersymonds.net
by symo667 on Jul 29, 2010 at 7:09 AM
     
Does not work - crashes on Win7 x64. Clear text password makes it completely impossible to use anywhere outside of your home.
by szlevi on Jun 10, 2010 at 6:21 PM
     
*Pros*: Works well. Can be integrated to the shell by using "Open Always". Uses gdata APIs. *Cons*: No installer. CLI window for stdout. Password stored cleartext in config file. *Rating*: 4.2 out of 5, since the negatives are pretty minor, and it works as expected.
by xaminmo on Feb 16, 2010 at 6:43 PM